About

 

 

Hawaii Opera Theatre uses sound business practice to present a broad spectrum of world-class opera and music-theatre, as well as a wide range of educational and artistic opportunities to the whole State of Hawaii. ”

HOT’s Mission 

Welcome to HOT

Opera has been part of island culture for more than a century. Its history in Hawaii, which dates back to the 1850s, includes stories of Queen Emma singing in the chorus of Verdi’s Il Trovatore while her husband, King Kamehameha IV served as the stage manager! Queen Liliuokalani is said to have composed her own opera. Hawaii Opera Theatre (HOT) was established as a non-profit organization in 1960.

Today, HOT is known for its vibrant and creative productions. Artistic excellence continues to be the cornerstone of standards for the company. International artists, who have graced stages from the New York Met to opera houses throughout Europe and Asia, compete up to three years in advance to perform on the HOT stage along side Hawaii’s best local artists. With its recent commemoration of 50 years as Hawaii’s only professional opera company, HOT is one of the largest performing arts organizations in the state with performances and outreach presentations on all of the major islands.

Who We Are

Hawaii Opera Theatre has a year-round staff of artistic administration, education, development, box office and other support resources. Casting for productions feature artists from around the world are featured in HOT’s Winter Grand Opera and Summer Season productions. HOT’s chorus is comprised of 40 to 70 local singers who rehearse months in advance for upcoming main stage productions.

High production values are among the signature standards for HOT presentations. Customs sets and scenery are frequently designed for HOT’s theatrical productions. Select sets, costume and props are available for rental or purchase.

HOT Staff

Meet the people who work year-round to bring you the best in opera and reach thousands of children through our award-winning programs.

Name Title Extension E-mail
Henry G. Akina Artistic Director 212 henry_akina@hawaiiopera.org
Simon Crookall General Director 201 s_crookall@hawaiiopera.org
Courtney Coston Office Assistant 200 c_coston@hawaiiopera.org
Beebe Freitas Head of Music 213 b_freitas@hawaiiopera.org
Erik D. Haines Director of Education 207 e_haines@hawaiiopera.org
Barett Hoover Director of Artistic Administration 215 b_hoover@hawaiiopera.org
Tracy Jefferson Chavez Director of Individual Giving 203 t_jefferson@hawaiiopera.org
Blythe Kelsey Education Coordinator 205 b_kelsey@hawaiiopera.org
Allison Kronberg Marketing Assistant 208 a_kronberg@hawaiiopera.org
Nikki Nielsen Box Office Assistant Manager 209 n_nielsen@hawaiiopera.org
Suzanne Ruiz Director of Finance & Administration 204 s_ruiz@hawaiiopera.org
Jordan Sasaki Production Coordinator 214 j_sasaki@hawaiiopera.org
Eric Schank Education Assistant 206 e_schank@hawaiiopera.org
T.H. Stettler Director of Production 200 tims@hawaiiopera.org
Kevin Takamori Director of Fundraising and Major Gifts 202 k_takamori@hawaiiopera.org
Jason Walter Marketing Director 211 j_walter@hawaiiopera.org
Gayleen Williams Box Office Manager 210 g_williams@hawaiiopera.org

Board of Directors

A diverse group of community leaders, opera patrons, business professionals and arts supporters comprise the volunteer board of directors for HOT who support the organization throughout the year with their time, talent, expertise and network of resources.
View Board of Directors List

 

Hawaii Opera Theatre is a proud member of Opera America.

OAC_Logo_bw